top of page
Search
  • faithkidsartesia4

MOMO awareness, Game Review, and a Parent Challenge

I pray all are well and let me say thanks for reading this article. I understand parenting can be tough but isn’t it an awesome blessing at the same time?! You are doing a good job and keep it up. This week is going to be a little different. I am going to address the MOMO challenge, give a game review, and offer a quick parent challenge.


Kids and electronics

I have found the MOMO challenge to be very disturbing. The fact that we live in a day where people can make horrible videos, hack into kids shows, and show this stuff is terrible. I have never been a fan of unsupervised electronics, this goes for phones, tablets, and TV. I always try to know what my kids are watching and control what goes into their eyes and ears. Parents, our kids don’t know how to protect themselves, so we must take control of this. The MOMO challenge is just one example that can hurt our kids. I try to always remind our kids and all the kids I get to minister to that we must be careful. We cannot un-see or un-hear certain things and we live in a time where electronics control a lot of that. This goes for music, books, apps on phones and the list goes on and on.


My encouragement would be this:

1. Limit the amount of screen time. Kids have so much energy and want to be outside. Set a limit and stick to it. The convenience of electronics is so tempting, but we must try and not be lazy, and be involved parents. I am speaking to myself as well. The urge to just hand them a phone or tablet to entertain them and keep them occupied must STOP. Please, be creative and look for other ways to entertain your kids. Cook a meal together, send them outside to play, get out a board game, anything other than electronics.

2. When they do have electronics, KEEP AN EYE on what they are watching or playing. You can set up controls and you can delete things you don’t want them using. YOU have the power and YOU are in charge. Set the boundaries and stick to them.


GAME REVIEW - "Sushi Go"

A family style game was mentioned to me by Sarah Joseph called “Sushi Go”. I am always looking for games for my family that can hold the attention of a 3yr old up to a 10yr old. Sarah said it is great, so we ordered it and tried it out. It is rather simple, and the idea is to make as many sushi rolls as possible.

The instructions were kind of vague, but that worked for us as we were able to modify and play our own way. The kids loved trying to figure out which sushi rolls would make the most points and the images on the cards were very player-friendly and fun. Most importantly, we were all around our dinner table, laughing, giggling and creating a time of fun for our family. I would recommend this game. It didn’t take long to play. It was quick and worked well for our dynamic family. It was $7.99 on Amazon and I think any time I can spend 8 bucks to get our family around the table is a WIN. Try it out and if you have another family game, let me know and we will try it out as well.


Parent Challenge

Family time is crucial in the development of the dynamic of today’s family. This can sometimes be a movie night or game night or just talking after dinner. This is so important because it teaches our kids a few things.

1. It teaches our kids and family the importance of talking and hanging out together. This will work wonders in fostering good healthy relationships.

2. This teaches our kids how to communicate and talk. We can have easy conversation and ask questions and see what is going on in our kids’ lives. Anytime you can circle around the table and play, and talk is great for you and your family.

3. Lastly, you are creating an environment and culture that stresses the importance of family. I want my kids to know they can talk to me anytime and if we start enforcing these values at an early age it will carry on to when they are older and into their families when they grow up and have kids.

I don’t know about you, but I want to sit around a table with kids and grandkids and laugh and talk and know what is going on when they get older. So, start now and create the environment you want when they are older.

You are in control of what goes on in your house and what your kids do. Invest in the important and the payoff will be great.


I will leave you with 3 thoughts/questions to ponder and help set up a better family environment:

1. Are you praying as a family?

If not, start. Do it before bed, do it before they go to school, do it in the car, but whatever you do just start.

2. Do you have meals as a family?

It can be hard but try and look ahead and see which nights this is possible and set those up. Stick to it and make it happen. You can do it.

3. Do you converse with your kids?

If you don’t ask, you won’t know. Ask them questions and see what is going on. It can be hard, but I encourage you to ask questions like:

i. What was the funniest thing that happened today?

ii. What did you do in math today?


Specific questions lead to specific responses. Be creative and give it a try. I am praying for you and if I can ever do anything, please don’t hesitate to call. If you have a question or topic let me know and I will do my best to share what we do and how God would handle it.


Thanks for reading. Have a super awesome, good time, day.


In Christ,

Paul

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What's Going ON@!@$@!#

Planning ahead. If you are anything like our family, PLANNING IS A MUST. Whether it is school, sports, church, life in general we are in a mode of planning. With four kids and busy schedules, we have

Dangers of the Tech age

Dear Parents/Guardians, I hope all is going well and know we pray for you and are here if you need anything. Last week, I had the privilege of listening to Josh Proctor as he spoke on the dangers of t

Spring is HERE!!

5 things that happen in the spring and what can we do to enjoy it. 1. The days are longer. I absolutely love spring because the days get longer. I am a sun up to sun down type of guy. My body has alwa

bottom of page